Skip to content

accompaniment

April 2, 2009

Do you like to listen to music while you are writing?

Years ago, I couldn’t concentrate on anything with noise in the background. Whether I was finishing up homework or reading a book, music or television in the background disrupted my thought process and drove me crazy.

Now, however, I find I am inspired by music when I write. Most recently, I’ve been listening to every Savatage album every made while working on my novel, and during the Christmas season I typed along to Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

Unlike most people I know, hard rock and metal are actually soothing to me. In college, when I was living in a tiny apartment with paper-thin walls, I drowned out the neighbor’s partying and fell asleep to Aerosmith and Dream Theater. My music tastes are more eclectic now, but my philosophy is still “the heavier the better”.

As far as my writing goes, I think I work better when listening to music because it’s the process of creation. A band like Trans-Siberian Orchestra, for example, is so complex and so beautiful that I can’t help but feel motivated when they are playing on my computer.

I think, “If I could create something as haunting and lyrical and mesmerizing as this, I can’t help but succeed.”

If you don’t believe me, watch this video of how one person was inspired to create by TSO’s “Wizards in Winter”. Pretty amazing.

Trans-Siberian Orchestra, “Wizards in Winter

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 9:55 am

    I can rarely listen to music while writing. Depending on what mood I’m trying to create at the moment, sometimes I’ll put on a Nox Arcana CD, but for the most part I find silence works well or one of those CDs of “surf sounds” or “crashing waves”, anything to drown out my neighbors (whether office neighbors or home neighbors). Sometimes I’d like to drown them in the surf… but that’s another topic 😉

    I sure hope that guy that put up that light display invites all the neighbors over for a dip in his pool and a nice barbecue during the summer.

  2. April 2, 2009 9:56 am

    Oh, meant to add, love the new page design! Very pretty.

    • May 14, 2017 10:51 pm

      Glad I’ve finally found soienhmtg I agree with!

    • May 31, 2017 11:36 am

      This is the perfect website for anybody who wishes to find out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want to匟aHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been written about for a long time. Great stuff, just wonderful!

  3. Sam Tamlyn permalink*
    April 2, 2009 12:27 pm

    Ha ha, that’s what I was thinking. If I lived next to that guy during Christmas, I’d probably put black curtains over all the windows. At least he broadcasts the music on the radio so passers-by can listen from their cars.

    Thanks for your compliment on the page design, and I’ll have to try nature sounds sometime. My mother goes to sleep listening to a sound machine and she says it gives her good dreams. 🙂

Leave a Reply

