Skip to content

decisions

March 28, 2009

I was going to write a “flinging” post this morning, but never got around to it. It’s been a busy week, and all I’ve wanted to do today is veg in front of the television. This isn’t typical behavior for me, so I hope it wears off before Monday.

All week, I was kicking around the idea of reserving a domain name and transfering this blog to my own web site. I started a regular WordPress.com blog because I didn’t want the commitment of a “real” web site; I didn’t want to think of blogging as a chore, but as a pleasure.

I shut down my professional web site—the one I created for ghostwriting—about six months ago when I decided to close my business. Since then, I’ve lived delightfully obligation-free.

When you purchase a domain name and web hosting, you feel compelled to use this space because you’re paying for it every month. You feel like if you don’t update it, you’re pissing money down the drain.

Nevertheless, this WordPress.com blog is severely limiting, in terms of both usability and design. I’m not a graphic designer, but I do enjoy working with Photoshop and creating my own designs—versus hiring someone else to do it or going entirely minimal.

So I think I’ve made my decision: On Monday or Tuesday, I’ll purchase my domain and the first year of web hosting. This doesn’t mean the decision-making process is over, but at least it won’t bug me anymore.

The major decision I have to make now is how to structure my new web site. I really enjoy writing these personal blog posts about the writing life and about my wacky adventures in suburbia. However, I also enjoy writing informative articles for aspiring authors and ghostwriters.

Here are my options:

  1. Simply create a new blog at my own site with the same set-up: blog in one section, with articles as pages in another.
  2. Set up two blogs at the new site: one for my personal rants and ravings, and a second for writing tips and advice.
  3. Merge the two ideas into one blog.

My guess is that I’ll go with the second option, but I’ll continue rolling it around in the noggin for a few days before making up my mind.

What I have discovered is that writing articles about ghostwriting and fiction and the like is extremely cathartic for me. I don’t ghost anymore, but I’ve learned quite a bit over the years and I’m more than willing to share the tidbits of information I’ve collected.

It also helps me work out issues with my own writing. For example, I’m currently working on an article about defining the climax of a story, and the research for that article is assisting the momentum of my WIP. Win-win. If only one person benefits from reading an article I wrote, I’ll be a happy camper.

Decisions have never been my strong suit though, so It definitely helps to write about this from a personal standpoint. My best friend and I are both very passive people when it comes to relatively simple decisions, so neither one of us ever gets anything done. We once sat in her car in my driveway for forty-five minutes because neither one of us could decide where we should have dinner.

How sad is that?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 6:08 pm

    Good luck with this decision. I really enjoy your ‘integrated’ blog but understand from your post why you’d consider splitting the writing/articles out, too. Either way I’ll keep reading!

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

