Skip to content

flinging 3

March 21, 2009

Blogger creativity never ceases to amaze me. It seems like every time I turn around, there is an insightful or witty or interesting or downright hiliarious snippet for me to read, and although my bookshelves are always stocked, I like reading blogs for different reasons.

Following are some of the gems I’ve uncovered this week and will fling your way:

  • Carolyn of “My Sidney Paris Life” publishes an extra-long article about in-flight insights. Calling all travel writers! If you find yourself on a plane more than once a year, this is a must-read.
  • Jonathan Morrow from Copyblogger provides nervous nellies with a few tips on how to blog when you suk at writin’. Use this article to find your voice.
  • Alice Bradley illustrates in hilarious prose why you should never—and I mean NEVER—use the Internet to diagnose your suspicious mole. Or, you know, that weird growth on the top of your head that everyone assumes is an eclectic hat.
  • James Chartrand writes a provacative post about becoming a literary hero. Wise words, and we could all use a dose of motivation now and again.

And a few shameless plugs in the forms of articles I’ve written this week:

More Articles →

Happy reading!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    March 21, 2009 4:56 pm

    Thank you for the fling, Sam.

    I’m enjoying your blog and appreciate your sharing your writing experience with your great articles.

    Cheers from Sydney (and sometimes Paris).

  2. March 23, 2009 10:54 am

    Very much enjoyed James Chartrand’s article. It was like casting ourselves as a character in our own stories/lives. 🙂 Interesting perspective to look at yourself from the outside like that.

    I read your article on characterization, too. I’m working on developing my characters’ pasts. I’ve seen so many in books who are so two-dimensional, the authors didn’t give us enough to make them real. By the end of the book (thinking of one in particular) I still really had no idea who the protagonist was, I wouldn’t have known him if I’d tripped over him walking down the street. I’d really like to avoid that with my own.

  3. Sam Tamlyn permalink*
    March 23, 2009 2:00 pm

    I know what you mean about characterization, and thanks for reading my article. I’m very big on characterization (Charles Dickens is my hero) and many of today’s authors just don’t put enough effort into it. I want to know characters intimately, and it’s definitely a skill writers have to work on.

Leave a Reply

